Channeling the Soup Nazi

Do you remember that Seinfeld episode about the Soup Nazi? The one where if you don’t order properly he barks, “NO SOUP FOR YOU!”?

Kramer’s favorite soup was the Indian Mulligatawny Soup. Way back when, I was curious to know what this was and looked it up, tried it, and LOVED it. I changed it up a bit to fit my taste.

Granted, this may not be authentic mulligatawny, but it was still very delicious. Maybe my culinary partner, Tara, has more insight on this soup. If this was indeed the soup nazi’s copycat recipe, then mostly it was tweaked to fit the American palette. And now it is tweaked to fit my own personal palette.

This is a vegetarian soup with the main ingredient being eggplant. I personally don’t like the huge Italian eggplants as they are bland and flavorless. I prefer either the chinese eggplant or the Japanese eggplant. These bring a little sweetness to the dish.

The recipe also calls for potatoes. Now this soup is supposed to be thick, like chili, and this is from the breakdown of the eggplants and the potatoes. So today, I chose two different potatoes, the russet and the red potato. The russet potato is high in starch and will break down and become mealy, especially when being simmered for hours. This thickens the soup. However, I like potato chunks and this is where the red potato comes in. Low in starch, high in sugars, the red potato will keep its shape.

Now it’s time to prep my ingredients. I first roasted cashews in a hot dry pan. The nuts provide the protein in this soup.

This is one of my favorite dishes because I love all the colors. It is also one of the easiest despite the many ingredients.

Rough dice and slice of all the vegetables and dump them all in a pot with the nuts, various spices, vegetable broth and seasonings.


How pathetic, this is the biggest pot I have in my tiny little condo. So I can barely fit all the ingredients in there. Now I just wait until it reduces down for a few hours, stirring occasionally. Right now, it’s very watery.

Bringing it to a rapid boil then reducing the heat to simmer brings out the color of the soup.

An hour goes by, we can see it has been reduced. Most of the veggies have softened, and the eggplant and russet potato has mostly been broken down.

In the fourth hour, I consider the soup to be done. It reduced even more. The eggplant and russet potato are nonexistent. The curry fragrant, spices bold, soup thick.

Ready for plating (or bowling) in my cheap Asian soup bowl. My potato chunks are still there and all the vegetables and nuts are so soft they practically melt in your mouth. The taste has a mixture of simply sweet, salty, and sour, yet complex with the curry powder, marjoram, thyme, parsley, bay leaf, nutmeg. It’s a perfect soup for a cold cold night like tonight.

Note: I printed out this recipe nearly 6 years ago from topsecretrecipes.com, but now you have to pay 79 cents for it. Because of that, I feel like the recipe is not public domain and I can’t repost it here. Sorry! You can google it and find it somewhere else, but I don’t want to get dinged for copyright infringement. 🙂

– Max

One thought on “Channeling the Soup Nazi

Leave a Reply

