Chicken Marsala

Chicken Marsala is one of my favorite tried-and-true recipes where I feel like I cooked a gourmet meal without spending the gourmet time. The taste is simply divine with Italian Marsala dry wine serving as the base for the sauce. Another thing that makes it one of my favorites are the mushrooms. I absolutely love mushrooms to no end and Chicken Marsala uses a lot of it.

The recipe I used is from famous celebrity chef Emeril Lagasse. Original recipe can be found here. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/chicken-marsala-recipe/index.html

Ingredients:
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon Essence, recipe follows
2 (6 to 8-ounce) boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut in halves and pounded thin
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 tablespoons butter
3 cups sliced mushrooms
3/4 cup Marsala
1 cup chicken stock
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
Chopped chives, for garnish

Ingredients for the Essence:
2 1/2 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoons salt
2 tablespoons garlic powder
1 tablespoon black pepper
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon dried leaf oregano
1 tablespoon dried thyme

These are ingredients straight from the recipe, but I changed it up because I don’t have everything in hand. For the flour flavoring, I didn’t use as much as called for in the recipe because I am only going to use it one time for this dish, so I just eyeballed together the mixture with added herbs.


These are the mushrooms I used, white button, baby Portobello, and oyster mushrooms. Of course you can use any mushrooms you want.


I measured ¾ cup of Marsala wine. The rule of thumb is that you don’t want to use wine to cook with that you wouldn’t want to sip yourself. However, Marsala usually is not a sipping wine so you can get just about any brand and it’ll still taste good. This is actually a cheap brand from a chain grocery store. $3.49 USD!


I prepped everything here. I accidentally defrosted thighs and 1 breast instead of all breasts. It still worked out ok. My flour coating consists of all-purpose flour, dried thyme, dried basil, paprika, cayenne, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a dash of cumin.


Next, I pound the chicken flat. This allows for faster and even cooking throughout the chicken. I’ve tried it before where I used the breasts as is and found that the thick part of the chicken to be too raw during the braising process. So please flatten, only a few minutes of pounding will yield only a few minutes of cooking time.


Flatten, but not broken.


Next, cover the chicken with the flour.


Fry the chicken in the oil and 1 tablespoon of butter. Preferably, this should be done in a stainless steel saucepan. It is ideal to have some of the flour bits stick to the pan. But all I have are nonstick pans so I won’t be able to deglaze.


Fry until golden brown on each side.


Put another 1 tablespoon of butter into the pan.


And constantly stir all the mushrooms.


Stir until all the mushrooms release their water content and the mushrooms have crispy edges.


Deglaze the pan with the marsala wine. Bring back to a boil and continue until the wine reduces to half.


When the wine is reduced to half, add the chicken broth and continue to cook until the sauce slightly thickens. Because I have a non-stick pan, I have to compensate the thickening agent. I used ¼ teaspoon of corn starch dissolved in cold water and include that with the chicken broth.


Lower the heat to medium and return the chicken to the pan to absorb all the marsala buttery goodness. Swirl in 2 more tablespoons of butter and season with salt and paper.


Plate it up! Garnish with chopped chives. I usually like this over pasta with roasted vegetables.

If you try this dish, good luck! This might end up a tried-and-true recipe for you for a quick weeknight dinner, a dinner at 4:30am, or a recipe that you can pass along to a friend in a recipe exchange!

Leave a Reply

