Guinness Cupcakes


I know it’s the end of May and St. Patrick’s day was a couple of months ago. I have all these leftover Guinness beer from my St. Patrick’s blog and didn’t know what to do with them. I normally don’t drink beer so it’s been sitting around in my refrigerator. I wondered what else can I do with it. I also have spirits and liquor, but I don’t drink those either. I normally use the flavors for dessert (think Kahlua cheesecake). My thought was, can Guinness be used in a dessert? Of course it can! Google, once again, answered all my questions.

I came across a food blog at Tasty Pursuits. It is maintained by Hazel Sy and she has many a great recipes on there, including this Guinness Cupcake recipe with a caramel buttercream frosting.

I gathered my ingredients and I couldn’t wait to get started. It’s been a while since I baked anything so I may be a bit rusty on my techniques.

Cupcake ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup cocoa powder
2 teaspoons espresso powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup canola oil (I used vegetable oil, but you can substitute applesauce for a healthier recipe)
1 large egg
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/4 cup milk
1 1/4 cups (10 ounces) Guinness beer
Buttercream frosting (recipe tomorrow)

As with most baking recipes we prepare the wet and dry ingredients separately before we combine.


Start off by beating the egg and oil together


Ah, the three stars of the recipe.


I made a mess. Have you tried to pour beer in a small measuring cup while taking a picture with the other hand with a huge SLR? Hehe


In this mixture, we have the beaten egg with oil, added the milk, vanilla and beer.


Mix to combine. You see the froth of the beer as you mix. After done mixing, set this to the side and prep the dry ingredients.


I put into this sifter the flour, cocoa powder, espresso powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. The sifter allows me to insert air into the mix as well as weed out any lump that may have form.


It’s snowing! This mixes all the dry ingredients together.


Now that the dry ingredients are evenly mixed, dump it all into the wet ingredient bowl.


Add the sugar on top of that.


Start mixing away.


Don’t forget to use your rubber spatula to scrape down the sides that the mixer may have missed.


The mixing is done when it has a smooth consistency and all the dry ingredients have been incorporated into the wet.


So I use these baking cups to avoid using a muffin tin. They work well and holds its shape against the heavy batter. Fill each of these about ½ to 2/3 full. Because of the baking powder and baking soda, this will allow the cupcake to expand and rise. If you fill the batter to the top of the cups, then it’ll overflow and you’ll not get nice looking cupcakes.

Stick this in a preheated 350 degree oven for 13-16 minutes.


Use a toothpick to check the doneness of the cupcake. I did this after 13 minutes.


Toothpick came out wet, so it needed to be baked some more.


After 16 minutes, this was more like it. Toothpick came out dry.


Now it’s time to decorate the cupcakes with buttercream frosting.


Haha, I did a really bad job!

And that’s it! Refrigerate the cupcakes if they are not going to be consumed right away otherwise the butter cream will melt away.

Verdict: so this was my first time making the recipe and here are my thoughts.

  • I did not taste the Guinness at all. What overpowered the beer taste was the chocolate. However, I am thinking if it’s due to the beer being a couple of months old.
  • Cupcake turned out very light and fluffy. It didn’t taste very sweet to me, which is a good thing.
  • My piping skills need a LOT of work, you see how ugly it is? It also maybe because of the next point
  • I need to invest on real piping bags and maybe metal tips. Ziploc makeshift bags are really not cutting it for me. I’m want to work on presentation and I think have those will make whatever I’m decorating prettier.
  • Invest in a real Kitchenaid Professional Mixer. I really like food photography and I think by not having one hand always holding a mixer, I can get better shots of what I am doing while something is being mixed. This can also speed up the process when taking pictures in middle of steps.

– Max

Leave a Reply

