Haupia Pie (FAIL)

My favorite dessert out of Hawaii would come out of none other than the local Mcdonalds. Yes, it is true! I wouldn’t even have known about this dessert if it weren’t for a friend of mine who bought the haupia pie for another friend who shared it with me. What a nice guy!

Haupia is a creamy coconut pudding that originated in Hawaii. The one and only time I tasted it was in this pie and I immediately loved the taste of it. One bite from the mcdonalds pie was like heaven, especially when it was nice and warm with the coconut oozing out. I knew I had to duplicated this when I got back home to the mainland.

To my amazement, the recipe was very simple: coconut milk, water, sugar, and cornstarch. Really? I guess it really is true that sometimes the simple things are the best in life. I stopped in my tracks though. How am I going to duplicated mcdonalds light and crispy crust? I actually have NO experience making this type of pastry. So I took a guess and went with puff pastry dough.

For the haupia recipe, I went with http://www.ochef.com/112.htm but I halved the recipe.

Ingredients:
2 cups coconut milk
1-1/4 cups water
3/4 cups sugar
1/2 cup cornstarch
puff pastry dough


All the ingredients.

Preparing the haupia:

Simmer the water and coconut milk together under medium low heat and whisk together until the milk is fully incorporated into the water.


Add the sugar.


Add the cornstarch.


Whisk to combine. The liquid will thicken due to the cornstarch. You should really whisk often so that the cornstarch doesn’t clump up or stick to the bottom of the pan. At the end, the mixture should look like this and have pudding consistency.

Preparing the crust:

Make an egg wash by beating an egg and a little water.


The frozen dough has been thawed out and opened. Poke holes into the dough with a fork. This will allow air to escape while in the oven, otherwise it’ll explode. The dough will expand because of the air that will be trapped inside.


I cut the dough in half and scooped the haupia into the middle of the dough.


I tried my best to wrap it up without leakage. Obviously I did not do a good job of it.


Brush the top with the egg wash. The purpose of this is to help brown the crust so it looks appetizing.


I baked it in a 375F degree oven for about 30 minutes. It came out golden brown.


Cut in half and plate. Serve warm. Mmmm oozing haupia!


Here is how the mcdonalds version compares courtesy of HI Cookery at http://hicookery.com/2010/05/08/mini-haupia-pies/. Thank you for letting me use your image.

Verdict:
First time making a pastry and I failed. I don’t think I failed the filling, but I failed the crust. Can probably tell from the picture that the bottom of the pastry was undercooked. This is due to the fact that I overlapped the dough there. Next time, I really want to use phyllo dough instead. In doing so, I think I’ll have more control on how thick my crust can be. Also, I wasn’t gentle in cutting the pastry in half so it deflated. That’s why the picture looks so flat.

My friend who was with me as I was making this said the haupia was too sweet. I didn’t think so at the time, but I think she’s right. I halved the original recipe and I miscalculated 1-1/4 cup in half to be ¾ cup. It’s actually 5/8 cup. So there was more sugar than needed.

Mahalo,
– Max

P.S., check out HI Cookery for some yummy macarons on their blog!

Leave a Reply

