Banana Banana Bread

Here is another one of my tried and true recipes that I always love coming back to.  It’s the banana banana bread recipe from allrecipes.com.  When I’m in the mood baking, I will make this.  When my home needs its air freshened, I will make this.  It smells soooo good.  When I leave my windows open, I can smell the fragrance for miles..or kilometres.  Can you tell that I really love this recipe?

The key to this bread is lots of bananas, which why the title doubles the banana word.  They have to be overripe to unleash the most banana taste possible.  And also you need a lot of bananas to keep the bread moist.  How do you know when the banana is overripe?  When the banana gets the black speckles on the skin like the picture below:

I apologize if the picture of the banana doesn’t look too appealing.  I bought a bunch of bananas and left it out to ripen for about a week.  I didn’t have time to make the bread when the spots appeared so I put the bananas in the fridge to stop the ripening process and hence I got the darker color of the skin.  But I assure you that the banana is still good.

See, the inside is still yellow.  I took my bunch of bananas, which was 5 bananas and mash them with a fork in my measuring cup.

Ingredients:
2 cups (250 g) all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon (5 g) baking soda
1/4 teaspoon (2 g) salt
1/2 cup (115 g) butter, softened
3/4 cup (110 g) brown sugar
2 eggs
2 1/3 cups (525 g) mashed overripe bananas, 5 bananas

Here is all the ingredients.

– Preheat the oven to 350F (175C)

Sift together the flour, baking soda, and the salt.  Sifting allows air into the mixture to produce a fluffy, airy bread.

In another bowl, cream together the brown sugar and butter.  Save the butter wrapper.

Add in the eggs and mashed bananas and beat until well distributed.

Pour the banana mixture into the flour mixture.

And fold the flour into the banana mixture.  Folding doesn’t mean to mix, you have to gently scoop from the bottom of the bowl up and to the side and around in a circle.

I have a mini loaf pan so I can easily distribute the loaves out to friends without slicing into one big loaf.  This will also reduce the cooking time in the oven since the heat doesn’t have to penetrate through a thick layer of batter.  Make sure to butter the pan with butter wrap.  This helps prevent sticking and the loaves will pop out easier.

Pour out equal amounts of the batter into the molds.  Put the pan in the middle of the oven

In my oven, it took 35 minutes for the bread to be baked all the way.  It check, stick a toothpick in the middle of a loaf.  If it comes out clean, it’s done.  If batter sticks to it, add another 5 minutes to the cooking time.

Cool it in the pan for about 10 minutes and flip over onto a cooling rack.  Serve it anyway you like!  When I give it to friends, I wrap the loaves in plastic wrap, it should last a couple of days.

Original recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/banana-banana-bread/detail.aspx

Notes:
– I feel like this was the best batch I’ve made thus far.  It tasted very banana-y and I didn’t get this dense almost raw batter at the bottom of the loaf.  The color and texture was uniform throughout the mini loaf.  I am wondering if it’s because I was using very cold bananas?  Usually I don’t put bananas in the refrigerator.

– Max

Leave a Reply

