Velouté Sauce (for Poutine) – Part 2

Image
Velouté sauce is the gravy specific to poutine.  But if you asked me, it’s just a base for regular gravy.  If you want to make this sauce your own, you can put in your own seasonings according to your palette.  But for this entry, I’ll just stick to the basic.  Keep in mind that I did a big mistake and I’ll explain later in my notes.  I’ve made gravy plenty of times, but don’t know why I ended up not doing it my regular way.

Ingredients:
2 cups chicken stock
2 ounces (1/3 cup) flour
2 ounces (1/4 cup or ½ stick) butter
salt and pepper

Image
Here is all I need

Image
Boil the broth first.  Then add the butter and flour.  (What what?? Professional chefs maybe scratching their heads here…)

Image
Whisk like a mad person until all the flour has broken up.  The sauce will soon begin to thicken.

Image
Once the sauce has thickened, strain it out to a bowl.  This removes any clumps of flour that may have stayed behind.

Image
Add salt and pepper and you got yours a Velouté sauce!

Notes:
– Tsk tsk on me.  Gravies start by making a roux – the cooking of flour and fat together.  In this case, I should have melted the butter until medium heat (6 on my stove), add the flour to the melted butter and stir.  The flour will start to have a nutty aroma, and the darker this mixture becomes, the darker the gravy.  I actually wanted this chicken gravy to be dark, so would have stirred for about 5 minutes for the dark color.  Then, the boiling broth would be poured over it, or the roux be added to the boiling broth.  That’s the proper way to make gravy.

Original Recipe: http://www.montrealpoutine.com/recipes.html

– Max

Leave a Reply

