Pad See Ew (Thai Fried Flat Noodles) (FAIL)

Image
Pad See Ew is usually my go-to dish whenever I go to try a new Thai restaurant out.  One reason why I like it is because usually it comes with lots of vegetables.  Also because it reminds me a lot of Chinese Chow Fun although I feel the Thai version is less oily.  But that really depends on the restaurant.

My favorite food blogger, Bee at Rasa Malaysia, has a version of this dish written by a guest writer.  Here is the direct link to the recipe.  I wanted to give it a go in my own kitchen with a few substitutions and I’ve come up with a couple of glaring conclusions:

  • There is a reason why I don’t really make Asian noodles dishes or rather
  • I learn that Asian cuisine is not my forté.
  • I’ve been months removed from food photography that I need to up my game on presentation

Ingredients:
1 lb. wide rice noodles
1/2 lb. beef, sliced into thin slices against the bias
2-4 tsp. light soy sauce
a lot of broccoli
3-4 Tbs. vegetable oil
6 cloves chopped garlic
2-3 Tbsp black soy sauce or dark soy sauce or thick soy sauce
2-3 tsp. sugar, to taste
3 large eggs, warmed to room temperature
1/4 tsp. ground white pepper
Pickled chilies (sliced Serrano or jalapeño peppers pickled in white vinegar)

For marinading the beef:
Oyster sauce
Corn starch
Chinese rice wine
Pepper
Sesame Oil

Image

Some of the stuff I had on hand.  The beef was a rib eye cut.

Image
First thing’s first, soak the noodles into water for about an hour. The purpose of this is to separate the noodles without breaking, as well as hydrating an otherwise dried up fresh noodle. It said “FRESH” on the package.  Yeah right….Anyways, do this first while you prep the other ingredients to manage your time.

Image
Next, prepare the pickled chiles.  Slice the peppers and soak in white vinegar for an hour as well.  What is not shown here is that I should have added sugar to cut the sourness of the vinegar.

Image
I know you really don’t want to see raw meat here, but I must show how to cut against the bias 🙂 This beef has been trimmed off its fat.

Image
I wished I had more of a precise measurement when it comes to marinading, but I don’t.  A small drop of oyster sauce here, a splash of rice wine there, a sprinkle of corn starch here, a really small drop of sesame oil there.  Mix together until corn starch is dissolved and set aside.

Image
One of my favorites vegetables, the broccoli, cut up into small piece.  Make sure you use the stalk too but shave off the fibrous surface.

Image

Looks like everything is all prepped!  Let’s put them all together.  Oh but wait, there’s more:  Especially with stir frying, you have to make sure you can put all the ingredients in quickly because we are going to be cooking at high heat.

Image
Put the oil in the pan, and sauté the garlic for only a few seconds.  Otherwise they will burn and be bitter.  Quick snap with my camera and then move on…

Image
Put in the marinaded beef and stir around until the beef is ALMOST cooked.

Image
This technique for scrambled eggs will surely work in a wok, but not in a frying pan.  I moved the beef to the sides and then I put the three eggs in the center of the pan to scramble it.  FAIL.

Image

When the eggs are cooked, toss in the noodles and…

Image
add the soy sauces

Image
Toss it around until the soy sauces coat the noodles.

Image
Add the vegetables and keep tossing and cooking.  Sprinkle in the sugar.  Gosh no, I did not use the whole bowl there.  I had to sprinkle and taste, sprinkle and taste.

Image

Haha! This is the result of over tossing and over cooking.  The noodles broke apart. 😦  Tasted very good, but looked very ugly.  I consider this a FAIL.

 

– Max

Leave a Reply

