Kale Chips

DSC_0016
There is absolutely no reason to shy away from kale.  Seriously.

I was left with some kale after I got my girlfriend an Edible Arrangement for Mother’s Day last weekend.  Then I remember hearing about and seeing kale chips as a new health craze.  Not wanting to waste this kale, I decided to make some chips and you won’t believe just how easy it is to make.  Here is what you need:

  • Kale, obviously.  Torn and removed from the ribs
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt seasoning

No exact measurements here because it’s purely visual and on taste.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees

DSC_0002
Rip up the kale.

DSC_0010
Cover the kale with some olive oil.  Not too much and just enough to have a glisten.

DSC_0011
Get your hands dirty and toss so the oil can distribute evenly.

DSC_0013
Bake for 12 minutes.  Make sure that it doesn’t get too brown or else it can become bitter.  But bake enough that the leaves are crispy and not soggy.

DSC_0015
Whatever you want to season it with, make sure you do it right when it comes out of the oven so the flavors will stick.  I happen to have this yummy garlic salt concoction that we got from Rapazzini Winery. (They have garlic wine there, I kid you not. But it’s good!)

DSC_0016
This is a great healthy snack!  The crunch is a bit like potato chips so it almost doesn’t feel like you are eating a vegetable.  I think what I’ll try next is to do something like this for other leafy greens that might be bitter otherwise.  Great way to get veggies in our diet!

– Max

Leave a comment